Atthaya Thitikul Earns Vare Trophy Honours

The LPGA Tour announced that Atthaya Thitikul earned the Vare Trophy following her fifth-place finish at the CME Group Tour Championship.

Thitikul is the 34th different winner of the Vare Trophy and the second player from Thailand to earn the honor, joining Ariya Jutanugarn (2018). 

The 2021 Race to Costa del Sol champion won the 2023 Vare Trophy for recording the season’s lowest scoring average of 69.533. It is the 13th-lowest Vare Trophy-winning scoring average in the award’s history, tying Stacy Lewis’ 69.53 from 2014. She is the first player in the award’s history to win the Vare Trophy without earning a victory in the same year. 

Following The ANNIKA, four players recorded scoring averages below 70, with Thitikul leading Hyo Joo Kim by only 0.013 strokes. Kim needed to average 69.432 strokes per round at the CME Group Tour Championship to pass Thitikul. Jin Young Ko ranked third at the start of the week and needed an average score of 65.080, but withdrew prior to the third round at Tiburon Golf Club, therefore eliminating her from the Vare Trophy race, as she needed to complete all four rounds to get to the threshold of 70 rounds needed to qualify for the award. Xiyu Lin ranked fourth and needed to record an average score of 64.594 to pass Thitikul this week.

November 20, 2023

Comments are closed here.